Petrichor

The rain has stopped now. I watch as little droplets of water drip down the window sill. I wipe off the fog on the glass and look at the scene outside. My city looks beautiful. I open the window and a scent fills up my nostrils and warms up every inch of me. I absolutely love that very scent, the petrichor after the rain.

It brings back so many memories. It takes back to my childhood. It reminds me of how my friends and I would rush outside and sit under a tree to catch more of it. It reminds me of the days when I would come home to find my family sitting in the living room, watching TV or just chatting away. It reminds me of the time when mom was still alive and Aryan hadn’t left for California and Dad hadn’t distanced himself from us to drown himself in alcohol.

It brings back memories of you. It takes me back to the time we were together and how you brightened up my life with your presence. You truly did mesmerize me and I wanted nothing but to lose myself in your being. It reminds me of the first time you had flashed your bright warm smile at me. It reminds me of the day when you looked me in the eye and told me that you had fallen in love with me just as much as I had fallen in love with you. I was on cloud nine that day. It reminds me of all the times you held me and promised me the stars. You always loved singing. It reminds me of that one song that you would always sing for me.

It reminds me of all the rains we had seen together and of how you loved the petrichor just as much as I did. The petrichor. The petrichor ends my little reverie. The streets have started filling up again. My city still looks as enchanting as ever.

You were the only anchor to the sinking ship that was my life. But good things don’t last long and so didn’t you. That was the time you were here and this is the time that you aren’t. But at least, I have the petrichor which still inspires me to write.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Smriti says:

    This is beautiful ❤

    Like

Leave a comment